Winners named for 2019 BizTimes Nonprofit Excellence Awards

Honorees recognized at annual event

Nonprofit Excellence Awards
The winners and finalists of the 2019 BizTimes Nonprofit Excellence Awards.

Last updated on March 17th, 2020 at 01:37 pm

The winners of the 2019 BizTimes Milwaukee Nonprofit Excellence Awards were named today at the sixth annual program, held at the Italian Community Center in Milwaukee.

The program honors top area nonprofit organizations for their work in the community and also honors private individuals and businesses that support area nonprofits.

The winners and finalists of the 2019 Nonprofit Excellence Awards are:

Nonprofit Collaboration of the Year

  • Winner – Medical College of Wisconsin and the Milwaukee Academy of Science
  • Finalists – UMOS, LUMIN Schools

Nonprofit Executive of the Year

  • Winner – Héctor Colón, Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
  • Finalists – Sue Smith, Nativity Jesuit Academy; Mike Thirtle, Bethesda Lutheran Communities

Nonprofit Organization of the Year (Large)

  • Winner – Pathfinders
  • Finalists – Curative Care Network, La Causa Inc., Zoological Society of MIlwaukee

Nonprofit Organization of the Year (Small)

  • Winner – ABCD: After Breast Cancer Diagnosis
  • Finalists – Bryon Riesch Paralysis Foundation, Revitalize Milwaukee

Social Enterprise

  • Winner – Beyond Vision
  • Finalists –  Alliance for Strong Families and Communities – FEI Behavioral Health

Corporate Citizen of the Year

  • Winner – Kapco Metal Stamping
  • Finalists – First Bank Financial Centre, Komatsu Mining Corp.Sargento Foods Inc., The Starr Group

Corporate Volunteer of the Year

  • Winner – Christy Engel
  • Finalists – Gwen Erickson, Velvac Inc.; Kathryn Keppel, Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown LLP

In-Kind Supporter

  • Winner – Tall Guy and a Grill Catering
  • Finalist – The Corners of Brookfield

Next Generation Leadership

  • Winner – Justin Juley, HNTB Corp.
  • Finalist – Jackson Bubolz, Elevated Insurance

Lifetime Achievement

The Nonprofit Excellence Awards also featured a panel discussion about homelessness and housing challenges in the region.

Panelists included Eric Collins-Dyke, homeless outreach services manager for the MIlwaukee County Housing Division; Mike Flynn, president of First Business Bank’s Milwaukee region; Michael Gosman, executive director of Acts Housing; and Beth Wierick, chief executive officer of Milwaukee Downtown-BID #21.


Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display