SBT announces Health Care Heroes

Last updated on May 13th, 2019 at 02:40 pm

Small Business Times is proud to announce the winners of the third annual Health Care Heroes Awards program.

SBT Health Care Heroes Awards honor organizations and individuals who epitomize the spirit embodied in the word “hero” in the delivery of health care to the community.

The goals of the program are to recognize excellence, promote innovation, encourage emulation of successful programs, educate the general public, contribute to the enhancement of the value and quality of health care and, ultimately, give recognition to those deserving.

“Too many of these people and organizations never receive the recognition they deserve. The Health Care Heroes Awards honor people on the front line of health care. They’re ordinary people doing extraordinary things,” said Small Business Times publisher Dan Meyer.

Nearly 50 nominations were submitted to SBT for the program this year. The Health Care Heroes were selected by a prestigious panel of judges, including: Dr. Randall Lambrecht, dean of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Department of Health Sciences; Karen Ordinans, executive director of the Children’s Health Alliance of Wisconsin; Dr. Sarah Pratt, a pediatrician who is the past president of the Medical Society of Milwaukee County Board of Directors and a current member of the Wisconsin Medical Society Board of Directors; and Connie Roethel, R.N., wellness expert and president of Core Health Group in Mequon.

The 2006 Health Care Heroes Awards Breakfast will be held on Thursday, Dec. 7, at the Wyndham Milwaukee Center Hotel. Registration will begin at 7 a.m., and the breakfast and program will run from 7:30 to 9:30 a.m. Individual reservations can be made for $40 each; corporate tables also are available for $400 for table of 10.

WISN-Channel 12 news anchor Caroline Lyders will emcee the awards program.

For more information on the program or to make reservations for the breakfast, contact Sarah Wilson at (414) 277-8181, ext. 129, send an e-mail to Additional information about the program is posted at

2006 Health Care Heroes

Advancements in Health Care

• Martha Rasmus, president and chief executive officer, Mental Health Association in Milwaukee County.

• Dr. Michael Kellum, medical director of Mercy Health System Walworth Medical Center, Lake Geneva.

Community Service

• Lisa Alberte, president, chief executive officer, R.N. and vocational rehabilitation specialist, Lisa K. Alberte & Associates, Muskego.

• Ronald Komas, founder and volunteer, The Kathy Hospice at SynergyHealth St. Joseph’s Hospital, West Bend.

• Dr. Patricia Safavi, pediatrician, Next Door Pediatrics, Milwaukee.

Corporate Achievement in Health Care

• Mental health alliance of Rogers Memorial Hospital, Oconomowoc; Froedtert & Community Health; and Columbia St. Mary’s Hospital, Milwaukee.

Health Care Staff

• Mary Conti, clinical resource management coordinator, Froedtert Memorial Lutheran Hospital, Wauwatosa.

• Thomas Shiltz, licensed professional counselor, Rogers Memorial Hospital, Oconomowoc.


• Lori Banker-Horner, L.P.N. and patient services coordinator, Amyotrophic Lateral Sclerosis (ALS) Association-Wisconsin Chapter, Brookfield.

• Kathleen Timm, R.N., Horizon Home Care & Hospice Inc., Brown Deer.


• Dr. Beth Ann Drolet, medical director, the Dermatology Clinic & the Birthmarks & Vascular Anomalies Center at Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin, Wauwatosa.

• Dr. Ian Gilson, clinical and primary care physician, Aurora Medical Clinic, Milwaukee.


• Bill Parkinson, volunteer, Horizon Home Care & Hospice Inc. Brown Deer.

• Thomas Smallwood, administrator, Evan & Marion Helfaer Foundation, Elm Grove, and volunteer, Froedtert Memorial Lutheran Hospital.

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display