Real estate people in the news

Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett recently appointed Dave Misky as Assistant Executive Secretary of the Redevelopment Authority for the City of Milwaukee (RACM). Misky will lead the day-to-day operations of RACM’s economic development activities in neighborhoods throughout Milwaukee through land acquisition, use of financing tools, clean-up and renewal of properties. Misky most recently worked as Development and Environmental Manager for the Department of City Development. In this role he led the efforts of the aggressive City Brownfields Team, managed the $28 million revitalization of the Menomonee Valley Industrial Center, the 30th Street Industrial Corridor efforts and other city initiatives including the land development for the Milwaukee Job Corps Center. Under his leadership the City’s Brownfields Team secured more than $23 million in funds over 5 years for clean-up of brownfields, more than any other community in the country. The funds allowed the team to put more than 200 properties back into business and off of the tax-delinquency list.

The Greater Milwaukee Association of Realtors (GMAR) has installed its leadership team for 2008, including Beth Jaworski as chairwoman.

Jaworski is a top sales agent with Brookfield-based Shorewest Realtors in Wauwatosa office. She has been a member of the GMAR since 1993 and a member of the organization’s board of directors since 2004. She also has served as the association’s treasurer and corporate secretary. She was named GMAR’s Realtor of the Year in 2004.

Other new GMAR officers include: Kathy Domagalski, chair-elect; Julie Clarke of Realty Executives Metro, treasurer; Jim Somers, corporate secretary; and Dave Schmidt Jr. of Dave Schmidt Realty, past chair.

The GMAR also presented the following annual awards: Realtor of the year, John Sedler, HomeSale Realty; Lifetime Achievement Award, Geraldine Marchant, First Weber Group Realtors; Dedicated Service Award, Barb McGill, First Weber Group Realtors; and Affiliate of the Year, Jeanette Calvi, Imperial Title.

The Milwaukee Chapter of the National Association of the Remodeling Industry (NARI) recently announced the election of new officers and directors, including the appointment of Scott Cline of Milwaukee-based J&B Construction Co. Inc. as the new president.

Other NARI officers include: vice president Thomas Weiher of Carmel Builders Inc., Menomonee Falls; vice president Diane Ausavich of Carl Krueger Construction Inc., Milwaukee; vice president Kevin Anundson of The OAR Group, Elm Grove; treasurer Tony Rink of Renovators Ltd., Brookfield; and
secretary Dave Amoroso of Ron Sonntag Public Relations, Milwaukee.

The new board of directors, elected to three-year terms, includes: Mark Brick of B & E General Contractors Inc., Glendale; Tom Callen of Callen Construction Inc., Muskego; Tom Feiza of Mr. Fix-It, New Berlin; Thomas Hagner of Better Bldg. by Weather-Seal Ltd., Racine; and Dean Herriges, Urban Herriges & Sons Inc., Mukwonago.

Other board members include: Thomas Kammerait of von Briesen & Roper S.C., Milwaukee; Nick Kerzner of Kerzner Remodeling & Construction, Oconomowoc; Susan Montie of Advanced Communication Specialists, Waukesha; Jim Pitzen of Pitzen Design Ltd., Brookfield; Bill Wandsnider of Wandsnider Landscape, Menomonee Falls; James Klappa of JDJ Builders, Greenfield; Jill Liptow of RCI Remodeling Center Inc., Pewaukee; David Pekel of Pekel Construction & Remodeling Inc., Wauwatosa; Dan Riedel of Woller-Anger & Company LLC, Elm Grove; and Kenneth Skowronski of KS Remodelers Inc., Franklin.

The immediate past president is Paul Kraemer of Starr Insurance Group, Greenfield.

Sign up for the BizTimes email newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display