MMAC Scorecard ranks legislators

    The Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce has compiled its 2009-2010 Legislative Scorecard, in which it assigns scores to the voting records of state legislators on issues related to the MMAC’s Blueprint for Economic Prosperity.
    In the State Assembly, the highest-rated legislators from the Milwaukee area for the past session were Rep. Mark Honadel (R-South Milwaukee), Rep. Mark Gottlieb (R-Port Washington) and Rep. Jeff Stone (R-Greendale), each of whom voted for the MMAC position on 100 percent of the issues in the Scorecard.
    Other highly rated local Assembly members included Rep. Donald Pridemore (R-Hartford), Rep. Patricia Strachota (R-West Bend), Rep. Jim Ott (R-Mequon) and Rep. Rich Zipperer (R-Pewaukee).
    The lowest-rated local Assembly members on the MMAC Scorecard were Annette “Polly” Williams (D-Milwaukee), Rep. Leon Young (D-Milwaukee) and Rep. Frederick Kessler (D-Milwaukee).
    In the State Senate, the highest-rated local legislators were Sen. Alberta Darling (R-Menomonee Falls), Sen. Ted Kanavas (R-Brookfield), Sen. Neal Kedzie (R-Elkhorn) and Sen. Mary Lazich (R-New Berlin).
    The lowest-rated local legislators in the Senate were Sen. Tim Carpenter (D-Milwaukee), Sen. Lena Taylor (D-Milwaukee) and Sen. Jim Sullivan (D-Wauwatosa).
    “It has been said that the rarest two words in all of politics are, ‘thank you.’ Many lawmakers took political risks to support our MMAC priorities. In fact, some lawmakers face primary and general election challenges this fall specifically because they supported our agenda,” said Steve Baas, MMAC government affairs director.
    To view the full MMAC Legislative Scorecard, click here.
    – BizTimes Milwaukee

    Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

    Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

    No posts to display