Future 50 Awards highlight fast-growing companies

The Future 50 Awards program celebrates the success of southeastern Wisconsin’s rapidly growing companies as they continue to accelerate both their employee base and revenue.

Since the Council of Small Business Executives – affiliated with the Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce – launched the Future 50 program 28 years ago, 678 area companies have been honored.
“These are the companies that we really need to recognize because without them, our region is not economically healthy or vibrant,” said Mary Steinbrecher, executive director of COSBE.
The Future 50 program was created out of a desire to spotlight regional business growth, according to Steinbrecher. The program calls attention to independently-owned companies that are headquartered in the seven-county Milwaukee region, have been operating for at least three years, and have demonstrated growth in revenue and employment over the past three years.
Award winners are selected through a formula that analyzes three years of an applicant’s actual growth and three years of projected growth, according to Steinbrecher. The formula is weighted more toward companies’ actual growth. Through the formula, COSBE awards points to applicants, and those with the most points are crowned Future 50 honorees.
The 2015 pool of winners, announced in June, sways heavily toward manufacturing, construction and technology. Of the 50, 15 are manufacturers, seven are construction-related, and eight are technology-focused.
Combined 2014 revenue for all 50 firms totaled $1.37 billion, an 18 percent increase over the previous year, and in 2015, the firms are predicting another 16 percent growth. Total employment for all 50 firms was 3,883 in 2014, and the companies expect to employ 4,385 by the end of this year (a 13 percent increase).
Future 50 Award winners will be recognized for their achievements at the annual awards luncheon, to be held Thursday, Sept. 10, at The Pfister Hotel in downtown Milwaukee. BizTimes Media is the program’s media partner.
Written by: Erica Breunlin
– – –

2015 Future 50 Winner Profiles:
American Roller & Plasma Coatings
Angelic Bakehouse
Association Acumen LLC
Best Version Media
Bliffert Lumber & Fuel Co.
Butters-Fetting Co. Inc.
CCB Technology
CSE Inc.
Central City Distribution Co. Inc.
Church Metal Spinning Co.
ClearPath Connections Inc.
Clearwing Productions Inc.
Comprehensive Orthopaedics SC
Concurrency Inc.
Construction Management Associates Inc.
CornerStone Plumbing LLC
Custom Equipment-Hy-Brid Lifts
Dental Associates
Eagle Enterprises Ltd.
Edge Advisors, LLC
EmbedTek LLC
Federal Tool & Engineering LLC
Global Precision Industries Inc.
Hansen Reynolds Dickinson Crueger LLC
Healics Inc.
Hot Water Products
HUSCO International Inc.
Hydro-Thermal Corp.
KS Energy Services LLC
MSI General Corp.
Midwest Engineered Systems Inc.
Newport Network Solutions Inc.
Nissen Staffing Continuum Inc.
OwnersEdge Inc.
Pattyn North America Inc.
RC Insurance Services Inc.
RSP Inc.
Roofed Right America
Sanborn Tube Sales of Wisconsin Inc.
Scas Management Group LLC
Smart Choice MRI
Stay-Lite Lighting Inc.
Titan Spine
Transcendent LLC
Valentine Coffee Co.
Vantage Point Corp.
W.I.S. Logistics
ZMac Transportation Solutions LLC

Profiles compiled by: Alysha Schertz
Photos by: Paul Gaertner of White Dog Photography
– – –

Master Mettle Awards salute three-time Future 50 winners
The Council of Small Business Executives will honor six Master Mettle winners within its Future 50 Awards program this year.
The Master Mettle program features Future 50 Award winners who have qualified for an award three times – the maximum number of times a company can be recognized within the program.
This year’s Master Mettle award winners are:

  • CornerStone Plumbing LLC of Waukesha
  • EmbedTek LLC of Hartland
  • KS Energy Services LLC of New Berlin
  • Smart Choice MRI of Mequon
  • Transcendent LLC of Hartland
  • W.I.S. Logistics of New Berlin

Capturing a Future 50 designation three times is a “significant accomplishment,” said Mary Steinbrecher, executive director of COSBE, which operates under the Metropolitan Milwaukee Association of Commerce.
Master Mettle Awards reflect the “sustainability” of companies in their growth patterns, she said.
In the past, as many as a dozen businesses have been named Master Mettle winners during a single year, according to Steinbrecher.
COSBE established the Master Mettle Awards program in the early 1990s and has honored 253 companies with the accolade since then.
Each Master Mettle honoree will be highlighted beside the Future 50 winners during a Sept. 10 celebration at The Pfister Hotel in downtown Milwaukee.
The excitement generated at the celebration extends beyond the luncheon, according to Steinbrecher, who emphasized that the awards add to the credibility of winners and set their operations apart.
The awards frame each winner as a “leader” in the community, she said.
Written by: Erica Breunlin

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display