Bubbler executive appointments and awards

Learn more about:

HPS promotes Fulkerson to CEO
The board of directors of Milwaukee-based Health Payment Systems (HPS) has named Jay Fulkerson president and chief executive officer of the company.
Fulkerson joined the company a few months ago as executive vice president.
HPS reduces the cost of health care administration and simplifies the health care payment experience for patients and providers.
Fulkerson succeeds Eric Butlein, who retired from the position and will remain at the company as a consultant and a member of the board of directors.
“Jay brings to HPS a wealth of health care experience and deep understanding of the challenges providers, consumers and employers face,” said HPS board chairman John Seramur. “He is committed to eliminating waste and inefficiencies in the complex and confusing health care payment process. His expertise and focus will allow HPS to deliver even more value to our customers, partners and stakeholders. We’re excited for his leadership in this new role.”
“HPS is at an exciting place, and we’re eager to embrace our future,” Fulkerson said. “The company is growing as more providers recognize the value of our Single Payment System in reducing the administrative costs of delivering health care. We are focused on expanding our provider network, helping employers rein in costs and providing a simpler payment experience for consumers.”
In the Milwaukee area, HPS and its preferred provider partner, Trilogy, offer access to all major provider systems, as well as to others in the eastern third of the state. In addition, Ministry Health Care recently joined the HPS provider network, along with hospitals in Sheboygan, Beaver Dam, Oconto Falls, and Ripon. Greenfield-based Advanced Pain Management is also a new HPS provider.
Fulkerson brings two decades of health care and management experience to HPS. From April 2004 through October 2008, he worked at UnitedHealthcare, first as CEO of Wisconsin operations and later as the CEO of the Midwest region. From 1990 to 2004, he served as CEO of the Touchpoint Health Plan in the Fox Valley.

School-Pak owners nominated For SBA Person of the Year Award
Terri & Gene Schulist, founders and owners of School-Pak, a Milwaukee based school supply company have been nominated by PNC Bank and Kolb+Co for the 2012 Person of the Year Award, given by the United States’ Small Business Administration.
A winner in each state will compete for the National Award in Washington, DC in May of 2012.
Founded in 1991, School-Pak has grown from a local company to nationwide coverage serving parents in 28 states with pre-packaged school supply kits based on teachers’ lists.
"I was frustrated shopping for our son’s school supplies and felt there had to be a better way for families to spend the last days of summer than shopping for supplies," said Terri. "We started the company on our kitchen table with $500 and have grown throughout the years because of our dedication to quality, service and flexibility. Much of our growth has been through word-of-mouth comments from happy customers".
Winners of the persons of the year award are selected based on the following criteria: Staying power; Growth in number of employees; increase in sales and/or unit volume; current and past financial reports, innovative product or service; response to adversity and contributions to aid community-oriented projects.  
"School-Pak is a great women owned entrepreneurial story for southeastern Wisconsin. Kolb+Co is honored to nominate School-Pak for this prestigious award", says Sue Denzine, CPA, CHCC, CHBME of Kolb+Co.

Irish Fest names new board of directors
Milwaukee Irish Fest recently named its 2012 board of directors.
“Milwaukee Irish Fest has thrived over the past 32 years thanks to the vision, passion and support of our volunteer board members and staff,” said Donna Brady, president of Milwaukee Irish Fest. “We look forward to continued growth in the coming year.”
Board members re-elected are: Mary Alice Tierney and Pat Fitzgibbons. New members include: Colleen Kennedy, Kelly Brady, Peter LaBonte and Linda Klibowitz. Officers elected are: Donna Brady, president; Cathy Baker Ward, vice president; Kevin Costello, secretary and Mike Dahm, treasurer.
Leaders for the volunteer positions were chosen who share Irish Fest’s mission of preserving Irish culture through an annual festival, year-round programming, events and the Ward Irish Music Archives.

Sign up for the BizTimes email newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

What's New


Sponsored Content

Stay up-to-date with our free email newsletter

Keep up with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Milwaukee metro area.

By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

No, thank you.
BizTimes Milwaukee