BizTimes announces winners of IQ Awards for innovation

BizTimes Milwaukee announces the winners of the 2010 IQ (Innovation Quotient) Awards. The IQ Awards honor southeastern Wisconsin companies that are generating innovative products, services or processes. The companies must be based in Wisconsin and have a physical presence in Milwaukee, Waukesha, Ozaukee, Washington, Sheboygan, Racine, Walworth or Kenosha County.
The winners of the 2010 IQ Awards, and their award-winning innovations, are:

  • Advanced Waste Services Inc., West Allis – Developed The VacSimizer, a vehicle specifically designed to have the cargo capacity of a 5,000-gallon semi-tanker, yet retain the maneuverability of a straight vacuum truck. The VacSimizer has the largest legal payload in the vacuum truck industry. The key people involved with the project include president Mike Malatesta and Jeff Dean, Jason Derby and Pat Wheaton.
  • Bruno Independent Living Aids Inc., Oconomowoc – Invented the TAS-1850 Stow-Away, a powered transfer seat for disabled drivers of pickup trucks and sports utility vehicle. Key personnel at the company include Adam Hooper, project engineer; Scott Uttech, project engineer; Kristopher Lampe, engineer; Andrew Bayer, product manager; and Luke Bebeau, market manager. Michael Bruno II is the company’s president and CEO.
  • Fiserv Inc., Brookfield – Developed three key innovations in 2009: the Fiserv Boardroom Series; Person-to-Person Payments; and improvements in online bill payments for customers. Jeff Yabuki is the chief executive officer of the firm.
  • GetMOR Enterprises LLC, Oak Creek – Developed a hybrid tax-advantaged health care funding mechanism that provides the savings and portability of a health savings account (HSA), while allowing the flexibility in insurance design of a health reimbursement account (HRA). The partners in the company are Nancy Melcher and J. Matthew Skiles.
  • My Health Direct Inc., Brookfield – Developed solution to reduce emergency room overcrowding at health care sites by directing and scheduling patients to appropriate primary care providers. The innovative product helps to control health care costs by reducing emergency room visits. Jay Mason is the chief executive officer of the firm.
  • Racine Federated Inc., Racine – Developed the TFX Ultra, which is an ultrasonic flow and energy meter that clamps onto the outside of pipes without contacting the internal liquids. Key people involved with the project include Bob Stevens, Jeff Freiberg, Richard Little, John Erskine III and Mike Scoon. Dave Perkins is the company’s president and CEO.
  • Strattec Security Corp., Butler – Invented BOLT Series Locks, which “learn” automotive keys when they are inserted once. Key people involved with the project are Mike Long, Steve Gilles, Erik Dettloff and Kathy Scherbarth, and the chief executive officer is Harry Stratton. Harold M. Stratton II is the company’s chairman and CEO.
  • TherapEase Cuisine Inc., Greenfield – Developed the world’s only online nutritional service for cancer patients. The service provides access to critical nutrition strategies in real time. Key people involved with the project are president James Hermann, founder and chief operating officer Vivian Roe and lead oncology dietitian Erin Dummert.
  • Uihlein Electric Company Inc., Brookfield – Integrated high-definition television at major health care sites and developed a new Operating Room Personnel Management system, helping companies save energy and costs. Cory Owen is the director of technology systems for the firm. Tim Rigsby is the company’s president.
  • Vibrant Graphics, Milwaukee – Pioneered the first use of digital printing in an in-mold-labeling packaging application. The company also was the first U.S. company to offer laminated protection for labels printed on thin, unsupported films. Key people involved with the project include Mike Sewart, Joe Hirtzer, Alex Dott and Roger Wrass. Mike Sewart is the company’s president

The winners of the IQ Awards will be featured in an upcoming edition of BizTimes Milwaukee and will be honored at an awards luncheon on April 29 at the sixth annual BizTech Conference & Expo to be held at Wisconsin State Fair Park.To register to attend the awards luncheon, visit
The BizTech Conference & Expo is the largest business-to-business conference in the state. For additional information, visit

Sign up for the BizTimes email newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display