Women in Science series honors MCW researchers

Two Medical College of Wisconsin researchers were honored today at MCW’s annual Women in Science awards luncheon. The luncheon, held at MCW, is the final event in the eighth annual Women in Science series. The awards included a $10,000 research award to an established scientist and a $1,000 research award to an outstanding woman postdoctoral researcher.

The recipient of the $10,000 Women Pioneers in Research award for 2014 is Cheryl Stucky, Ph.D., professor of cell biology, neurobiology & anatomy and director of the neuroscience doctoral program. Stucky shared an overview of her research into the causes of chronic pain at the luncheon.

The recipient of the 2014 Edward J. Lennon, M.D. Award for an Outstanding Woman Postdoctoral Researcher is Daria Ilatovskaya, Ph.D., postdoctoral fellow in physiology, who presented an overview of her research.

Dr. Lennon was a former dean and president of MCW.

The Women in Science lecture series offers the public an opportunity to meet and support local female scientists and physicians and to hear about their research. The ninth annual luncheon series kicks off in April 2015.

Daria Ilatovskaya, Ph.D., right, of the Medical College of Wisconsin received the 2014 Edward J. Lennon, M.D. Award for Outstanding Woman Postdoctoral Researcher.

Sign up for the BizTimes email newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display