Walker declares drought emergency

Last updated on July 3rd, 2019 at 07:25 pm

Gov. Scott Walker today declared a state of emergency in 42 Wisconsin counties due to drought or abnormally dry conditions, allowing expedited permits for farmers to temporarily use stream or lake water for irrigation.

“The lack of rainfall since May in the southern half of the state has hit hard in a crucial part of the growing season,” Walker said.  “Wisconsin Agricultural Statistics Service reports this week that most of the land in these counties is short or very short of soil moisture, and this week’s U.S. Drought Monitor for the first time reported the southern tiers of Wisconsin counties to be in drought.
“These farm families are suffering under the stress and worry, but this is also a matter of statewide importance.  Agriculture adds more than $59 billion to our economic output every year, and accounts for 354,000 jobs – one in every 10 Wisconsinite depends on agriculture for employment.  It’s a vital sector of our economy that we need to protect,” Walker said.
The declaration covers the following counties: Adams, Brown, Buffalo, Calumet, Clark, Columbia, Crawford, Dane, Dodge, Fond Du Lac, Grant, Green, Green Lake, Iowa, Jackson, Jefferson, Juneau, Kenosha, Kewaunee, LaCrosse, Lafayette, Marquette, Manitowoc, Milwaukee, Monroe, Outagamie, Ozaukee, Portage, Racine, Richland, Rock, Sauk, Sheboygan, Trempealeau, Vernon, Walworth, Washington, Waukesha, Waupaca, Waushara, Winnebago, Wood and any county contiguous to the named counties at the discretion of the secretary of the Department of Natural Resources and upon written notification to the governor.
During a state of emergency, the Department of Natural Resources can expedite requests from farmers to divert water from streams and lakes for irrigation. The DNR must inspect the stream or lake in question within 72 hours of the request, to assure that fish and other aquatic life will not be harmed by the diversion.
The governor also encouraged farmers to report crop conditions to their local U.S. Farm Service Agency (FSA) office. The FSA compiles this information. Information gathered would provide the basis for the governor to request a disaster declaration by the U.S. Secretary of Agriculture, which could make low-cost emergency loans and other assistance available to farmers.
Farmers can also turn to the Wisconsin Farm Center, housed in the Wisconsin Department of Agriculture, Trade and Consumer Protection. The Farm Center staff can provide referrals and information about available services, including such things as finding feed, financial planning assistance, and mediation between farmers and creditors. Farmers can call the center toll-free at 1-800-942-2474, or e-mail farmcenter@wisconsin.gov. The center is staffed from 7:45 a.m. to 4:30 p.m. weekdays.


Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display