Walker appoints three to Wisconsin Center District Board

Last updated on July 3rd, 2019 at 07:14 pm

Gov. Scott Walker has appointed three new members to the Wisconsin Center District Board, which operates the Wisconsin Center, the UW-Milwaukee Panther Arena and Milwaukee Theatre in downtown Milwaukee.

The appointees are:

  • James Kanter, senior director of commercial operations for MillerCoors, who has worked in various sales, market, leadership and management positions at the brewing company for the past 11 years. He lives in Fox Point and will represent the food and beverage industry on the board.
  • Stephen H. Marcus, chairman of the board at Milwaukee-based hospitality and entertainment company Marcus Corp. Marcus joined the firm in 1962 and has also served as president and chief executive officer of the company. He lives in Milwaukee, and will represent the lodging industry on the board.
  • James Kaminski, president of Kaminski Consulting, which works with clients in the government affairs, engineering and design and construction services sectors. Kaminski previously was the City of Milwaukee’s commissioner of public works. He lives in Greenfield, and will represent the private sector on the board.

The Center District Board membership has been overhauled as a part of Act 60, which expanded the WCD’s oversight to include the new Milwaukee arena. Act 60, signed into law on Aug. 12, set out the terms and financing for the development and construction of a new sports and entertainment arena in downtown Milwaukee. With Walker’s signature, approval by the Milwaukee Common Council is the last hurdle to clear for the arena funding deal.

Under state law, one of Walker’s three appointees needs to own, operate or manage an enterprise in the Center District that is significantly involved in the food and beverage industry, and another must do the same in the lodging industry. In addition, two of the appointees must reside in the district, but not in the City of Milwaukee.

The other board members are: Milwaukee Common Council president Michael Murphy, Alderman Bob Bauman, Alderman Milele Coggs, OnMilwaukee.com co-founder Jeff Sherman, Foley & Lardner LLP partner Jason Allen, Wauwatosa Mayor Kathleen Ehley, Godfrey & Kahn S.C. associate Rebeca Lopez, the speaker of the Assembly (or designee), the Senate majority leader (or designee), the Assembly minority leader (or designee), the Senate minority leader (or designee), the Milwaukee comptroller, and the secretary of the Department of Administration.

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

Molly Dill, former BizTimes Milwaukee managing editor.

No posts to display