Help BizTimes salute first responders to shootings


The public is invited to help BizTimes Media salute the first responders to the mass shootings in Oak Creek and Brookfield by attending the 2012 Health Care Heroes Awards Breakfast.

The annual awards salute people and organizations who are making a positive difference on the front lines of health care.
The police and firefighters who responded to the 911 calls at the shootings in Oak Creek and Brookfield will be among this year’s Health Care Heroes Awards recipients.
The Health Care Heroes will be profiled in the Dec. 17 edition of BizTimes Milwaukee magazine and will be honored at a breakfast on Friday, Dec. 14, at 7:30 a.m. at the Crowne Plaza Hotel in Wauwatosa. The public is invited to attend.

In addition to the first responders, this year’s Health Care Heroes Awards winners include, by category:

- Advertisement -

Advancements in Health Care
Dr. David Baker, professor and associate chair of biomedical Sciences at Marquette University and founder and Director of Promentis Pharmaceuticals.
Dr. Amy Vaughan Van Hecke, assistant professor of psychology at Marquette University and director of the Marquette Autism Clinic.

Dr. Joshua Field, associate medical director at the BloodCenter of Wisconsin and associate investigator with the Medical College of Wisconsin and Froedtert Health.
Dr. Michael L. Malone, director of geriatrics at Aurora Health Care and professor of Medicine at the University of Wisconsin school of medicine and public health.
Dr. Stanya Smith, medical director of Multiple Sclerosis Clinic at ProHealth Care Neuroscience Center.

Community Service
Debbie Donovan, manager of the Sexual Assault Treatment Center at Aurora Health Care.
Darren Horndasch, president and chief executive officer of Wisconsin Vision, Inc.
Bill Solberg, director of community services at Columbia St. Mary’s.

- Advertisement -

Health Care Staff
Ernest Colburn, patient care supervisor at Wheaton Franciscan Health Care-St. Joseph.
Gina Wheeler, operations director for Milwaukee Center For Independence L.I.F.E. Services.

Peggy Lohr, registered nurse at Columbia St. Mary’s Regional Burn Center.
Yvonne Kraker, director of nursing for Catholic Health initiatives South Milwaukee assisted living facilities: Franciscan Garden, Franciscan Villa and Franciscan Courts.

First Responder
Daniel Hernandez, public safety officer at Marquette University.

Michael Hoffmann, hospice companion at Horizon Home Care and Hospice.
Mary Czerwinski and family for their support of the Columbia St. Mary’s Huiras Family Ozaukee Community Health Clinic in honor of her late brother, Anthony Czwerwinski.

The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges in the health care industry.
To register to attend, visit

Sign up for the BizTimes email newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

What's New


Sponsored Content


Stay up-to-date with our free email newsletter

Keep up with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Milwaukee metro area.

By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

No, thank you.
BizTimes Milwaukee