2020 DNC Host Committee announces official leadership structure

Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett and Rep. Gwen Moore to serve as committee co-chairs

Host committee chair Alex Lasry, DNC chairman Tom Perez, Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett and Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes, along with other city and party leaders, celebrate after announcing that Milwaukee will host the 2020 Democratic National Convention. 

Last updated on March 17th, 2020 at 01:38 pm

The Milwaukee 2020 Host Committee on Thursday announced the 21 civic and business leaders from across Wisconsin who will serve as its members.

The group is tasked with representing their respective constituencies and industries during the months leading up to the 2020 Democratic National Convention, set to take place in July. They will serve in a volunteer capacity and will not receive payment for their work.

Their feedback “will inform the efforts of Host Committee staff and ensure that the impact of the convention is spread throughout the region,” according to a news release. The four-day event is expected to bring 50,000 visitors and $200 million in economic impact to the area.

“The 21 members who make up the Host Committee’s leadership structure embody the best of Wisconsin — strong, hardworking, and resilient,” said Liz Gilbert, president of the Milwaukee 2020 Host Committee. “The 2020 Democratic National Convention would not be coming to Milwaukee had it not been for their tireless efforts, and it’s an honor to have their support and guidance as we work to make a lasting, positive impact on Milwaukee and the entire state of Wisconsin.”

Earlier this week, Milwaukee Mayor Tom Barrett and Rep. Gwen Moore were named co-chairs of the Host Committee, which includes the following members and vice chairs:

● Milwaukee County Executive Chris Abele (who recently announced he will not seek re-election)

● Senator Tammy Baldwin

● Lt. Gov. Mandela Barnes, honorary vice chair

● Betsy Brenner, former president and publisher of the Milwaukee Journal Sentinel

● Gov. Tony Evers

● State Treasurer Sarah Godlewski, honorary vice chair

● Milwaukee Common Council President Ashanti Hamilton, honorary vice chair

● Jacqueline Herd-Barber, community volunteer

● Gordon Hintz, Democratic leader for the Wisconsin State Assembly, honorary vice chair

● State Attorney General Josh Kaul, honorary vice chair

● Rep. Ron Kind, honorary vice chair

● Former Senator Herb Kohl

● Secretary of State Doug La Follette, honorary vice chair

● Alex Lasry, senior vice president of the Milwaukee Bucks, honorary finance chair

● Sheldon B. Lubar, chairman of Lubar & Co.

● Rep. Mark Pocan, honorary vice chair

● John E. Schlifske, chairman, president, and CEO of Northwestern Mutual

● Jennifer Shilling, Democratic leader, honorary vice chair

The Host Committee is also governed by a board of directors, which includes: Rebeca López, attorney at Godfrey & Kahn S.C.; John W. Miller, founder and principal at Arenberg Holdings; Michael O’Neil, general counsel at The Dohmen Company; Dr. Joan Prince, vice chancellor of global inclusion and engagement at the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee; and Liz Gilbert, president of the Milwaukee 2020 Host Committee.

“Wisconsin residents of all ages and from all backgrounds will feel the impact of the 2020 Democratic National Convention,” said Evers. “That’s why it is critical that this leadership team advocates for the best interests of the entire state. I look forward to working together to ensure we make the most of this incredible opportunity.”

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

Maredithe has covered retail, restaurants, entertainment and tourism since 2018. Her duties as associate editor include copy editing, page proofing and managing work flow. Meyer earned a degree in journalism from Marquette University and still enjoys attending men’s basketball games to cheer on the Golden Eagles. Also in her free time, Meyer coaches high school field hockey and loves trying out new restaurants in Milwaukee.

No posts to display