2018 Health Care Heroes Awards

Meet the winners

Last updated on July 25th, 2019 at 03:12 pm

The annual BizTimes Media Health Care Heroes Awards recognize the heroes among us – people and organizations making an impact on the health and wellness of southeastern Wisconsin in the health care sector. In this special section, we honor their achievements and tell their stories.


Lifetime Achievement:

Richard Aster, Versiti Blood Research Institute video-play-small-icon

Advancements in Health Care: Honors a company or individual primarily responsible for a scientific or discovery or for the development of a new medical product or procedure.

Parameswaran Hari, Medical College of Wisconsin video-play-small-icon

Behavioral Health: Honors an individual or an organization for their leadership, commitment and care on behavioral health issues.

C. Frederick Geilfuss II, Grand Avenue Club video-play-small-icon

Robert Gouthro, Medical College of Wisconsin video-play-small-icon

Robin Monson-Dupuis, Aurora Behavioral Health Services video-play-small-icon

Community Service: Honors an individual or an organization for leadership in focusing on solving a particular health care issue.

Medical College of Wisconsin Cancer Center Community Advisory Board video-play-small-icon

Ascension Wisconsin – Be of Good Heart program video-play-small-icon

David Nelson, Medical College of Wisconsin video-play-small-icon

Executive Leadership: Honors a senior-level individual who demonstrates strong skills in leading their organization in quality care, collaboration and financial management.

Coreen Dicus-Johnson, Network Health video-play-small-icon

Patricia Metropulos, Kathy’s House video-play-small-icon

Health Care Staff: Honors an individual who has made a significant difference in the well-being of others.

Sheila Dodds, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin video-play-small-icon

Nurse: Honors an individual from the nursing field whose performance on the job is considered exemplary by patients, peers and physicians.

Mariya Gozenpud, IndependenceFirst Inc. video-play-small-icon

Julie Katrichis, Milwaukee Health Dept. video-play-small-icon

Brianne Ortega, Waukesha County Public Health video-play-small-icon

Physician: Honors a physician whose performance on the job is considered exemplary by patients and peers.

Frank Downey, Aurora St. Luke’s Medical Center video-play-small-icon

Adnan Nazir, Taha Medical Center video-play-small-icon

Ronald Schulgit, Ascension Medical Group – Racine video-play-small-icon

Volunteer: Honors an individual who has done volunteer work for the good of one or more people or the entire community.

Dawn Panfil, Hair & Body Solutions Salon and Spa video-play-small-icon

Thank You!

BizTimes Media applauds the 2018 Health Care Heroes! Thank you for making a difference in the community and on the front lines of health care. Please consider nominating a Health Care Hero in 2019 at biztimes.com/hero.

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display