United Way names 2019 campaign co-chairs

Mike Flynn, Cecelia Gore, George Oliver, Blake Moret to lead campaign

Amy Lindner

United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County has named four Milwaukee area leaders to head up the organization’s 2019 community campaign.

Mike Flynn

Campaign co-chairs include: Mike Flynn, president of First Business Bank’s Milwaukee region; Cecelia Gore, executive director of the Brewers Community Foundation; Blake Moret, chairman and chief executive officer of Rockwell Automation; and George Oliver, chairman and CEO of Johnson Controls.

Cecelia Gore

“Each year we are beyond fortunate to have incredibly talented individuals step up to lead our Community Campaign,” said Amy Lindner, president and CEO of United Way of Greater Milwaukee & Waukesha County. “And this year is no different. These community leaders will be a driving force to continue to lead critical change in our community.”

United Way’s 2018 campaign brought in $56 million to support the organization’s 220 programs and more than 110 partner agencies.

Blake Moret

The 2019 co-chairs were introduced Thursday at United Way’s annual meeting, which was hosted by Baker Tilly at the U.S. Bank Center in downtown Milwaukee.

United Way also announced its 2019-20 board of directors:


Cory Nettles, managing director and partner at Generation Growth Capital, Inc., will serve his second term as board chair. Linda Benfield, managing partner of Foley & Lardner LLP’s Milwaukee office is vice chair/chair elect. Scott Wrobbel, central region market leader and Milwaukee managing partner at Deloitte is board treasurer. Kelly Grebe, chief legal officer at MillerCoors, is board secretary.

Board members nominated to serve three-year terms include: Michael Carter, Northwestern Mutual; Cristy Garcia-Thomas, Advocate Aurora Health; John Kissinger, GRAEF; Dr. Jeanette Kowalik, City of Milwaukee Health Department; Donald W. Layden, Quarles & Brady LLP / Baird Capital; Sheriff Earnell Lucas, Milwaukee County Sheriff’s Office; Wayne Morgan, Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP; Keith Posley, MPS Central Services; Jonas Prising, ManpowerGroup; Michael Rowe, American Transmission Company; and Joseph Walicki, Johnson Controls.

Incumbent members nominated for another three-year term were: Suzanne Kelley, Waukesha County Business Alliance; Blake Moret, Rockwell Automation; and Judson Snyder, BMO Harris Equipment Finance Company.

One-year term appointments include: David Gay, EY; Margaret Kurlinski, Godfrey & Kahn S.C; and Stacy Williams, Baird / The Hodge Williams Group.

Incumbent members nominated for another one-year term: Thomas Cardella, retired, Tenth and Blake Beer Company, MillerCoors; Jacqueline Herd-Barber, community volunteer; Catherine Jacobson, Froedtert Health; Gregory Marcus, The Marcus Corp.; Peggy Troy, Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin; and Scott Wrobbel, Deloitte.

Get our email updates

Lauren Anderson
Lauren Anderson covers health care, nonprofits, education and insurance for BizTimes. Lauren previously reported on education for the Waukesha Freeman. She graduated from the University of Wisconsin-Madison, where she studied journalism, history and African studies. In her free time, Lauren enjoys spending time with family and friends and seeing live music wherever she can.

No posts to display