SBT names Health Care Heroes

Last updated on July 2nd, 2019 at 10:07 am

Small Business Times announces the recipients of the 2008 Health Care Heroes Awards, which honor people, organizations and companies for their contributions and accomplishments in improving health care in southeastern Wisconsin.

The winners will be saluted at a breakfast on Thursday, Dec. 11, at the Italian Community Center.

The Health Care Heroes Awards recipients are:

Advancements in Health Care

  • Jack Routes, M.D., Children’s Hospital of Wisconsin – Helped Wisconsin become first state in the nation to screen newborns for Severe Combined Immune Deficiency (also known as "Bubble Boy" disease.)
  • Patrick Brown, executive director, The Badger Association of the Blind & Visually Impaired – Provides vital services for the fast-growing visually impaired population.

Community Service

  • Darryl Cremer, founder and chairman of the board, Jane Cremer Foundation Inc. – Educates and empowers women to fight cancer.
  • Sister Lucina Halbur, president and chief executive officer, S.E.T Ministry Inc. – Created national model to provide health care to low-income senior citizens.

Corporate Achievement in Health Care

  • Smart Choice MRI – Provides MRI exams for $600, encourages consumerism and saves costs in health care.
  • Robert Frediani, president of Therapy Plus of Wisconsin LLC & The Institute of Collaborative Health Interventions (ICHI) Inc. – Provides health care services to underserved populations.

Health Care Staff

  • Sandra Cesar, certified nursing assistant and home health aide, Horizon Home Care & Hospice – Provides compassionate care to Alzheimer’s patients.
  • David Linney, financial counselor, Great Lakes Hemophilia Foundation – Provides extraordinary services to the Wisconsin bleeding disorders community for 35 years.


  • Anne Bormann, R.N., Horizon Home Care & Hospice – Saved patients’ lives, coordinated extra needed services for patients.
  • Linda Bremberger, R.N., Community Memorial Hospital – Provides patient support and expertise in electrophysiology and defibrillators and pacemakers for patients.


  • J. Frank Wilson, M.D., chairman and Bernard & Miriam Peck family professor in radiation oncology, Medical College of Wisconsin – Nationally recognized specialist in radiation oncology and teacher.
  • Thomas Shimshak, M.D., medical director of Wheaton Franciscan Heart Care – National leader in interventional cardiology and is known worldwide for his clinical expertise in coronary and peripheral vascular intervention.


  • Barbara Huff, youth ministry associate, Central Lutheran Church – Donated kidney to save life of 13-year-old girl.
  • Belynda Alberte, founder of "Muskego Teens Giving Back" – Organized fundraising activities to help a wounded veteran of the Iraq war.
  • Beverly Lieven, advocate, Milwaukee Celiac Sprue Crew – Provides resources to people with celiac disease.

Lifetime Achievement Award

  • Jon Vice, president and CEO of Children’s Hospital & Health System – Guided the growth of Children’s Hospital to become one of the top pediatric hospitals in the world.

The winners were selected by an independent panel of judges, including: Karen Ordinans, executive director of the Children’s Health Alliance of Wisconsin; Dr. Sarah Pratt, a pediatrician who is the past president of the Medical Society of Milwaukee County Board of Directors and a past member of the Wisconsin Medical Society Board of Directors; Connie Roethel, R.N., wellness expert and president of Core Health Group in Mequon; and Phyllis King, Ph.D., associate dean, professor and associate director of the University of Wisconsin-Milwaukee Center for Ergonomics..

For more information and to register to attend the breakfast, visit

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display