Marquette names 2010 All-University Alumni Award Winners


Marquette University will honor seven distinguished alumni during its annual Alumni National Awards Dinner on Saturday, April 24. Mary Ellen Bolger Stanek will be honored as the Alumna of the Year. Stanek has more than 30 years of investment management experience and serves as the managing director and director of asset management at Robert W. Baird & Co, and president of Baird Funds. In 2006, she also became the first woman to chair the Marquette Board of Trustees since Marquette first started accepting female students. Dr. George Magovern, Sr., will receive the Alumni Merit Award for making medical history by pioneering the world’s first heart-valve replacement, the second lung replacement surgery and  for developing the prototype of the nuclear-powered artificial heart. He is also responsible for the first clinical use of small centrifugal pumps as ventricular assist devices.
Marquette will also honor five other alumni with various awards including:

  • Michael Timmis, Alumni Service to the Community Award
  • Jim McShane and Kelly Glasow McShane, Alumni Service to Marquette Award.
  • Scott Schroeder, Spirit of Marquette Award
  • Willie Davis, Friend of the University Award.

During the university’s annual Alumni National Awards weekend, April 23-25, each college bestows awards on those demonstrating exceptional achievement. For a complete list of more than 50 alumni award winners and more detailed information about each, visit

Sign up for the BizTimes email newsletter

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

What's New


Sponsored Content


Stay up-to-date with our free email newsletter

Keep up with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Milwaukee metro area.

By subscribing you agree to our privacy policy.

No, thank you.
BizTimes Milwaukee