Event Preview: Community leaders to discuss Milwaukee’s homelessness challenges at Nonprofit Excellence Awards program

Nonprofit shutterstock

A panel of community leaders will discuss the challenges related to homelessness in the Milwaukee area, along with possible solutions to connect people to stable housing, at the sixth annual BizTimes Nonprofit Excellence Awards program on Nov. 1.

Panelists will include Eric Collins-Dyke, homeless outreach services manager for the Milwaukee County Housing Division; Michael Gosman, executive director of ACTS Housing; Beth Weirick, chief executive officer of Milwaukee Downtown, BID #21; and Mike Flynn, president of the Milwaukee region for First Business Bank. BizTimes associate editor Lauren Anderson will moderate the discussion.

Panelists will address the realities of the highly visible “tent city” in downtown Milwaukee, hidden homelessness and other housing-related challenges in the region, along with the work that is underway to address those issues.

Following the panel discussion, finalists and honorees of BizTimes Media’s 2019 Nonprofit Excellence Awards will be recognized.

Eric Collins-Dyke, Mike Flynn, Michael Gosman and Beth Weirick
Eric Collins-Dyke, Mike Flynn, Michael Gosman and Beth Weirick

Finalists for the Corporate Citizenship Awards include:

Lifetime Achievement Award Recipient: Jim Mueller, mueller QAAS

Corporate Citizen of the Year: The Starr Group, Kapco Metal Stamping and Sargento Foods Inc.

Corporate Volunteer of the Year: Gwen Erickson of Velvac Inc., Christy Engel of Anthem Blue Cross and Blue Shield, and Kathryn Keppel of Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown LLP

In-Kind Supporter: Tall Guy and a Grill Catering and The Corners of Brookfield

Next Generation Leadership: Justin Juley of HNTB Corp. and Jackson Bubolz of Elevated Insurance

Finalists for the Nonprofit Awards include:

Nonprofit Collaboration of the Year: Medical College of Wisconsin and the Milwaukee Academy of Science, LUMIN Schools and UMOS

Nonprofit Executive of the Year: Héctor Colón of Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan, Sue Smith of Nativity Jesuit Academy, and Mike Thirtle of Bethesda Lutheran Communities

Large Nonprofit (Organization) of the Year: Zoological Society of Milwaukee, Pathfinders of Milwaukee Inc., La Causa Inc. and Curative Care Network

Small Nonprofit (Organization) of the Year: ABCD: After Breast Cancer Diagnosis, Revitalize Milwaukee and Bryon Riesch Paralysis Foundation

Social Enterprise: Beyond Vision and the Alliance for Strong Families and Communities – FEI Behavioral Health.

The Nonprofit Excellence Awards event will run from 7-9:30 a.m. on Nov. 1 at the Italian Community Center. Registration is open at biztimes.com/npawards.

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display