Deadline for Nonprofit Excellence Awards nominations is Sept. 9

Philanthropy of area business leaders and strides made by nonprofits to be recognized

2015 Nonprofit Excellence Awards winners.

The deadline for nominations for BizTimes Media’s third annual Nonprofit Excellence Awards program, which celebrates both the philanthropy of area business leaders and strides made by nonprofits, is rapidly approaching.

2015 Nonprofit Excellence Awards winners.
2015 Nonprofit Excellence Awards winners.

Nominations are due by Friday, Sept. 9 and can be completed online. Self-nominations will also be accepted.

Nominees will be vetted by a committee composed of BizTimes editorial team members and nonprofit advisers and award winners will be saluted during a Nov. 3 breakfast at Potawatomi Hotel & Casino.

The awards applaud excellence in philanthropy and nonprofit leadership. Held in November at Potawatomi Hotel and Casino in Milwaukee, each year the event draws more than 400 attendees from the region’s business and nonprofit communities.

The 2016 awards program features nine award categories.

Corporate Citizen Award categories are:

  • Corporate Citizen of the Year, given to a for-profit organization in recognition of its impact to a single or multiple nonprofit organizations through financial contributions collective efforts to promote, encourage and organize fundraising efforts and company-sponsored programs and/or events engaging employees to participate in volunteerism.
  • Next Generation Leadership, given to for-profit, (under 40 year-old) executive who demonstrates leadership and significant contributions to single or multiple nonprofit organizations through active leadership on a board and/or strategic management/guidance.
  • In-Kind Supporter, given to a professional or company that provides in-kind support to single or multiple nonprofit organizations through any type of non-financial contributions.
  • Corporate Volunteer of the Year, given to a for-profit non-executive volunteer who demonstrates outstanding dedication to a nonprofit or multiple nonprofit organizations.  Active volunteerism can be ongoing or linked to a specific single project or cause.
  • Lifetime Achievement, given to an individual who over his/her lifetime has made significant contributions in time, treasure and talent to helping improve our community through his/her work in the nonprofit community.

Nonprofit Award categories are:

  • Nonprofit Organization of the Year (small and large categories), given to a nonprofit organization (not an individual) in recognition for creativity and innovation in building a sustainable organization excellence in teamwork and an outstanding dedication to the organization’s mission in the community organizational excellence in management and operations.
  • Nonprofit Collaboration of the Year, which recognizes a collaborative project that encompasses developed collaborative relationships with other nonprofit organizations, engagement of multiple stakeholders within the community being served and innovation in approaching a community problem or issue and have leveraged these relationships to make and even more meaningful impact in the community. Note: since this award recognizes a project that may involve multiple organizations or individuals, it may be “awarded” to more than one part of the project in recognition of their contributions.
  • Nonprofit Executive of the Year, given to a nonprofit leader who demonstrates vision and innovation in advancing the mission of the nonprofit, extensive involvement in a nonprofit and/or creativity in bringing new resources and opportunities to the nonprofit.
  • Social Enterprise, which recognizes a nonprofit organization that demonstrates creative application of the principles of social enterprise in the operation and funding of the organization.

To see a list of last year’s award winners, plus photos and a video from last year’s event, click here.

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

Ben Stanley, former BizTimes Milwaukee reporter.

No posts to display