Winners named for the 2022 BizTimes Nonprofit Excellence Awards

Stephen Marcus, chairman of Marcus Corp.

Last updated on November 8th, 2022 at 09:51 am

About 500 people gathered at the Italian Community Center in Milwaukee Friday to celebrate the philanthropic endeavors of local nonprofits, businesses and individuals during BizTimes Media’s 2022 Nonprofit Excellence Awards.

The event started off with a Q&A session including Jim Kacmarcik, chairman & CEO of Kacmarcik Enterprises, and Gretchen Jameson, group president, human performance and social impact, at Kacmarcik Enterprises. The duo shared how they brought the Kacmarcik Center for Human Performance to life, a learning and development center.

BizTimes Media also named the Marcus family as the 2022 Lifetime Achievement Award winner. Accepting on behalf of the Marcus family was Stephen Marcus, chairman of Marcus Corp. Over the past decade, the Marcus Corporation Foundation has donated more than $10 million to nonprofit organizations. The entire Marcus family has made numerous contributions to the community over several years.

Several other nonprofits and organizations were recognized during Friday’s event. The winners include:

The other finalists in each category were:

Nonprofit Collaboration of the Year

  • FOR-M: MKE Tech Hub Coalition, We Pivot, The Commons, Bader Philanthropies, WEDC
  • Journey House Construction & Design Academy: Journey House Inc., All Hands Boatworks, Teens Grow Greens, Habitat for Humanity, Adams Garden Park
  • Milwaukee Youth Arts Center: The Milwaukee Youth Arts Center, First Stage, Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra

Nonprofit Executive of the Year

  • Stephanie Riesner, GPS Education Partners
  • Mara Duckens, St. Francis Children’s Center
  • Lynnea Katz-Petted, Revitalize Milwaukee

Small Nonprofit Organization of the Year

  • The Ability Center
  • ALIVE Inc. Milwaukee
  • Center for Urban Teaching

Large Nonprofit Organization of the Year

  • Centers for Independence
  • Goodwill Industries of Southeastern Wisconsin Inc.
  • Junior Achievement of Wisconsin

Corporate Citizen of the Year

  • Ellenbecker Investment Group
  • Husco
  • Northwestern Mutual

Corporate Volunteer of the Year

  • Brian O’Neill, Feeding America Eastern Wisconsin

In-Kind Supporter

  • Oldenburg Group
  • SMART- Sheet Metal, Air, Rail, Transportation, Local 18

Next Generation Leadership

  • Maggie Pinnt, Pepper Construction of Wisconsin
  • Matthew Wuest, Godfrey & Kahn, S.C.

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

Ashley covers startups, technology and manufacturing for BizTimes. She was previously the managing editor of the News Graphic and Washington County Daily News. In past reporting roles, covering education at The Waukesha Freeman, she received several WNA awards. She is a UWM graduate. In her free time, Ashley enjoys watching independent films, tackling a new recipe in the kitchen and reading a good book.

No posts to display