Teske is new chairman of WMC

Todd Teske, chairman, president and CEO of Wauwatosa-based Briggs & Stratton Corp., is the new chairman of the Wisconsin Manufacturer & Commerce (WMC).
Teske was officially installed as WMC chair during the 101-year old business group’s board meeting. He succeeds Thomas Howatt, chairman of Wausau Paper.
In brief remarks to the WMC board, Teske outlined his priorities for his two-year term.
“Manufacturing has been, and continues to be the core of family-supporting middle class jobs in Wisconsin,” Teske said. “But those jobs are threatened by a number of factors including a shortage of skilled industrial workers to fill existing and expected job vacancies.”
If left unaddressed, the worker shortage will become a crisis for manufacturers, and ultimately for Wisconsin’s economy, Teske said.
“Manufacturing is our state’s No. 1 one business sector. It is also a foundational economic sector because it doesn’t just create jobs in factories. It also creates jobs in banks and retail stores, restaurants and hotels, local governments and hospitals. If Wisconsin doesn’t develop or attract the skilled workers needed for today’s advanced manufacturing, companies will be forced to look elsewhere.”
Defending the progress made during 2011 to improve Wisconsin’s business climate is another priority for Teske. He specifically singled out the manufacturers’ tax credit for recognition, which will begin a three year phase-in in 2013.
“One thing everyone in our state should be able to agree on is the need for more good jobs that support families, create opportunities and make communities strong,” Teske said.
At the same meeting, the WMC Board elected Daniel Ariens, president/CEO of Brillion-based Ariens Company, as vice chair. Ariens spoke this morning as a panelist at the Northern Trust Economic Trends Breakfast presented by BizTimes.
In addition, Tod Linstroth, senior partner and past chair and member of the management committee, Michael Best & Friedrich LLP, was re-elected secretary of WMC. Timothy Christen, CPA, CEO of Baker Tilly Virchow Krause, LLP, was re-elected treasurer of WMC. Kurt Bauer was re-elected president/CEO of WMC.
James Buchen, James Morgan and Michael Shoys were re-elected vice presidents of WMC.
In addition to Teske, others elected or re-elected to WMC’s 52-member board at the annual membership meeting include:
* David Bretting, president/CEO, C.G. Bretting Manufacturing Company Inc., Ashland.
* Bradley Chapin, executive vice president, M&I Bank, a Part of BMO Financial Group, Milwaukee.
* Scott Fawcett, president/CEO, Springs Window Fashions Division Inc., Middleton.
* Philip Flynn, president/CEO, Associated Banc-Corp, Green Bay.
* Gary Gigante, president/CEO, ThyssenKrupp Waupaca, Waupaca.
* Patricia Kampling, president/COO, Alliant Energy, Madison.
* Robert Kamphuis, chairman/president/CEO, Mayville Engineering Company, Mayville.
* Scott Larson, executive director, Marshfield Area Chamber of Commerce & Industry, Marshfield.
* James McIntyre, CEO, Greenheck Fan Corporation, Schofield.
* William Parsons, president, Palmer Johnson Enterprises Inc., Sturgeon Bay.
* Mark Richards, CEO, Appleton.
* Eric Sauey, president, Seats Inc., Reedsburg.
* Jay Smith, chairman/CEO, Teel Plastics Inc., Baraboo.
* John Torinus, Jr., chairman, Serigraph, Inc., West Bend.
* Donald Wahlin, CEO, Stoughton Trailers, LLC, Stoughton.

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display