Safety awards salute Wisconsin companies

    The Wisconsin Safety Council and the Wisconsin Department of Workforce Development (DWD) announced 18 companies will receive the 2012 Corporate Safety Award, and two individuals will be honored April 23-24 at the 71st annual Wisconsin Safety & Health Conference and Exposition.


    “We are proud to honor the deserving winning companies who work tirelessly to ensure safety remains a top priority, everyday” said Janie Ritter, director of the Wisconsin Safety Council. “The exhaustive efforts and determination of these companies to keep their employees safe at the workplace, as well as off the job, provides an example that all Wisconsin companies should strive to emulate.”

    Of the 125 companies who submitted applications this year, 92 were qualified finalists. Each of the finalists provided details on their organization’s safety and health leadership, training and implementation programs, and employee participation. Their reports also included information on their safety accomplishments and goals.

    The applications were judged by an independent panel of 35 safety, health, and human resource professionals. The 18 awards will be presented during the Conference at the Kalahari Resort and Convention Center, Wisconsin Dells.

    “I congratulate the 2012 Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award winners, who are helping Wisconsin maintain its competitive edge while setting an example for others as successful, profitable, forward-looking employers in making safety a priority for their workers,” Department of Workforce Development Secretary Reggie Newson said. “Governor Walker has introduced a bold set of workforce reforms to address the skills gap and equip workers with the right skills in the years ahead. Safety is paramount, as all of us work as partners in continuing efforts to protect our workers and move Wisconsin’s economy forward.”

    The 2012 Wisconsin Corporate Safety Award winners are:
    * ABB Inc. New Berlin.
    * Agropur, Inc.- Little Chute, Appleton.
    * Alliant Energy – Wisconsin Power and Light, Madison.
    * The Boldt Company, Appleton.
    * Cummins Filtration – Neillsville, Neillsville.
    * Energis High Voltage Resources, Inc., Green Bay.
    * Georgia-Pacific, Green Bay Broadway, Green Bay.
    * ITU, Inc., New Berlin.
    * Lakehead Painting Company, Superior.
    * Leicht Transfer and Storage Co., Green Bay.
    * Menasha Packaging Company LLC – Green Lake Plant, Green Lake.
    * Mercury Marine – Plant 36 Racing, Taycheedah.
    * NSP – Wisconsin/Xcel Energy, Eau Claire.
    * Phillips Medisize – Phillips Medical, Menomonie.
    * Tweet/Garot Mechanical, Inc., Green Bay.
    * USG Interiors, LLC, Walworth.
    * VJS Construction Services, Pewaukee.
    * Wisconsin Public Service – Pulliam Plant, Green Bay.

    The Lifetime Achievement Award in Safety will be bestowed upon Tom Baumgartner, director of safety at Mercury Marine in Fond du Lac.

    Tim Howald is the chairman and CEO of Tweet/Garot Mechanical Inc. in Green Bay and will be honored as the 12th inductee into the Wisconsin Safety Hall of Fame.

    Special awards for longevity worked without safety incidents resulting in lost time and for commitment to safety will be announced at the 71st Annual Conference.

    For more information, visit

    Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

    Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

    No posts to display