Medical College salutes women in research

Last updated on July 2nd, 2019 at 10:07 am

The Medical College of Wisconsin, Wauwatosa, will honor two female faculty scientists with the Women in Research Awards on Thursday, Oct. 30. The luncheon is the final event in this year’s Women in Science series, a Medical College initiative to raise awareness of outstanding local women researchers.

Winners of the second annual Women Pioneers in Research awards are Paula Traktman, the Walter Schroeder professor and chair of the department of microbiology and molecular genetics, and Rupali Das, a postdoctoral fellow in the laboratory of cancer researcher Dr. William Drobyski, professor of medicine in the division of neoplastic diseases. The nominations for the awards are made by Medical College faculty and chosen by the Medical College’s Women Faculty council. The award is given annually to honor and recognize a Medical College of Wisconsin woman faculty member for outstanding, internationally recognized basic science, translational or clinical research. Additional criteria used in the selection can include leadership, mentorship, teaching, advocacy for women and community engagement.

"Recognition of women researchers at The Medical College of Wisconsin is good for all women researchers because the awardees become role models and the recognition reinforces in the mind of the scientific community and the public that women are producing important discoveries that will improve the health of all," said Sally Twining, Ph.D., professor of biochemistry at the Medical College.

For information about the event, visit

Sign up for BizTimes Daily Alerts

Stay up-to-date on the people, companies and issues that impact business in Milwaukee and Southeast Wisconsin

No posts to display