Nonprofit Excellence Awards

BizTimes Media presented the sixth annual awards program to salute southeastern Wisconsin’s best corporate citizens and most effective nonprofit organizations was held on November 1st, 2019. The awards will shined a light on excellence in philanthropy and nonprofit leadership.

From Homelessness to Housing Chronic and family homelessness are growing concerns and challenging issues in the Milwaukee area that impact the entire community. Our panel discussed the realities of the growing tent city in downtown Milwaukee, hidden homelessness and other housing-related challenges in the region and possible solutions and paths to stable housing, along with ways you can help. Following the panel discussion, we will recognized BizTimes Media’s 2019 Nonprofit awards finalists and honorees.


  • Eric Collins-Dyke, MSW, APSW, Homeless Outreach Services Manager, Milwaukee County Housing Division (1)
  • Michael Gosman, Executive Director, Acts Housing (2)
  • Beth Wierick, CEO, Milwaukee Downtown – BID #21 (3)
  • Moderator: Lauren Anderson, Associate Editor, BizTimes Milwaukee

2019 Nonprofit Excellence Awards Panelists

The winners and finalists of the 2019 Nonprofit Excellence Awards are:

Nonprofit Collaboration of the Year

  • Winner – Medical College of Wisconsin and the Milwaukee Academy of Science
  • Finalists – UMOS, LUMIN Schools

Nonprofit Executive of the Year

  • Winner – Héctor Colón, Lutheran Social Services of Wisconsin and Upper Michigan
  • Finalists – Sue Smith, Nativity Jesuit Academy; Mike Thirtle, Bethesda Lutheran Communities

Nonprofit Organization of the Year (Large)

  • Winner – Pathfinders
  • Finalists – Curative Care Network, La Causa Inc., Zoological Society of MIlwaukee

Nonprofit Organization of the Year (Small)

  • Winner – ABCD: After Breast Cancer Diagnosis
  • Finalists – Bryon Riesch Paralysis Foundation, Revitalize Milwaukee

Social Enterprise

  • Winner – Beyond Vision
  • Finalists –  Alliance for Strong Families and Communities – FEI Behavioral Health

Corporate Citizen of the Year

  • Winner – Kapco Metal Stamping
  • Finalists – First Bank Financial Centre, Komatsu Mining Corp.Sargento Foods Inc., The Starr Group

Corporate Volunteer of the Year

  • Winner – Christy Engel
  • Finalists – Gwen Erickson, Velvac Inc.; Kathryn Keppel, Gimbel, Reilly, Guerin & Brown LLP

In-Kind Supporter

  • Winner – Tall Guy and a Grill Catering
  • Finalist – The Corners of Brookfield

Next Generation Leadership

  • Winner – Justin Juley, HNTB Corp.
  • Finalist – Jackson Bubolz, Elevated Insurance

Lifetime Achievement

Event Details

  • Friday, November 1, 2019
  • 7:30 – 9:30 am
  • Italian Community Center

Presented By

Platinum Sponsor

Interested in sponsoring an event? To reap the benefits of the ultimate in-person marketing opportunity contact Linda Crawford, Director of Sales, to discuss opportunities. Event sponsorships are limited.