Health Care Heroes

The Health Care Heroes awards, presented by BizTimes Milwaukee, salute the accomplishments of people and organizations making a positive difference on the front lines of health care.

Here is the full list of the 2019 Health Care Heroes Award winners:

Lifetime Achievement

  • Martin Schreiber, Former governor of Wisconsin, author of “My Two Elaines: Learning, Coping, and Surviving as an Alzheimer’s Caregiver”

Advancements in Health Care: Honors a company or individual primarily responsible for a scientific or discovery or for the development of a new medical product or procedure.

  • Dr. Katja Kovacic, Gastroenterologist, Children’s Wisconsin

Behavioral Health: Honors an individual or an organization for their leadership, commitment and care on behavioral health issues.

  • Dan Baker, Director of crisis resource centers, Milwaukee Center for Independence
  • Dr. Terri deRoon-Cassini, Associate professor, Medical College of Wisconsin
  • Dr. Adel Korkor, Founder, A.B Korkor Foundation for Mental Health

Community Service: Honors an individual or an organization for leadership in focusing on solving a particular health care issue.

  • Monica Hebl, Dentist/owner, Burleigh Dental
  • Joshua Knox, Physician assistant/clinical associate professor, Marquette University

Executive Leadership: Honors a senior-level individual who demonstrates strong skills in leading their organization in quality care, collaboration and financial management.

  • Cheryl A. Maurana, PhD, Professor of Population Health and Senior Vice President for Strategic Academic Partnerships, Medical College of Wisconsin

First Responder: Honors a person who arrived on the scene of a healthcare emergency utilizing their training to treat and comfort the patient in need.

  • Ladonna Davis, Licensed practical nurse , Community Care

Health Care Staff: Honors an individual who has made a significant difference in the well-being of others.

  • Fabiola De Chico, Community health coordinator, Ascension St. Francis Hospital
  • Bryan Lewis, Assistant to the dean for health-related professions, UW-Parkside

Nurse: Honors an individual from the nursing field whose performance on the job is considered exemplary by patients, peers and physicians.

  • Barb Burmeister, Registered nurse, Froedtert Hospital
  • Jeffrey Couillard, Registered nurse, Advanced Pain Management

Physician: Honors a physician whose performance on the job is considered exemplary by patients and peers.

  • Dr. Madelaine Tully, Family practice physician, Progressive Community Health Centers

Honors an individual who has done volunteer work for the good of one or more people or the entire community.

  • Dr. Peter Geiss, Medical director, Lake Area Free Clinic

Event Details

  • Friday, December 13, 2019
  • 7:30-9:30AM
  • Italian Community Center


Presented By

Supporting Sponsor

Interested in sponsoring an event? To reap the benefits of the ultimate in-person marketing opportunity contact Linda Crawford, Director of Sales, to discuss opportunities. Event sponsorships are limited.

Get our email updates

Stay up-to-date with the issues, companies and people that matter most to business in the Milwaukee metro area.