Nonprofit Excellence Awards

On November 3, 2016 BizTimes Media presented its third annual awards program to honor reader-nominated corporate citizens and nonprofits for their ongoing commitment to making southeastern Wisconsin a better place to live, work and play.

The awards presentation was preceded by a panel discussion where a panel of business and community leaders discussed current efforts and future opportunities to work together to solve these complex and deeply-rooted challenges.

WORKING TOGETHER: Building a better future for Milwaukee

Milwaukee is a vibrant city with much to offer. However, poverty, lack of access to good jobs and education and racial tension have created a deep divide – one that must be bridged for the entire community to realize its potential.

Many people, companies and nonprofit organizations give tirelessly of their time and energy to provide better access to jobs, education, food and adequate healthcare. But how does it all work together, and what could we be doing better?

Watch the panel discussion video-play-small-icon


  • Chris Abele, Milwaukee County Executive (1)
  • Bill Krugler, President, Milwaukee JobsWork (2)
  • Michael Morgan, Principal, Milwaukee College Prep: Lola Rowe North Campus (3)
  • Derek Mosely, City of Milwaukee Municipal Court Judge (4)

Moderator: Kimberly Kane, Founder and President, Kane Communications Group (5)

Congratulations to the 2016 Winners & Finalists

Corporate Citizenship Awards

Corporate Citizen of the Year: This award is given to a for-profit organization in recognition of its impact to a single or multiple nonprofit organizations through financial contributions collective efforts to promote, encourage and organize fundraising efforts and company-sponsored programs and/or events engaging employees to participate in volunteerism.

  • WINNER: BMO Harris Bank
  • Acuity Charitable Foundation
  • Foley & Lardner LLP

Corporate Volunteer of the Year: This award is given to a for-profit non-executive volunteer who demonstrates outstanding dedication to a nonprofit or multiple nonprofit organizations.  Active volunteerism can be ongoing or linked to a specific single project or cause.

  • WINNER: Meghan Shannon, Reinhart Boerner Van Deuren S.C.
  • Andrea Nemecek, Allume Architects, LLC
  • Steve Sorge, GE Healthcare

In-Kind Supporter: This award is given to a professional or company that provides in-kind support to single or multiple nonprofit organizations through any type of non-financial contributions.

  • WINNER: Cramer-Krasselt
  • Core Creative
  • STIR Advertising & Integrated Messaging

Next Generation Leadership: This award is given to for-profit, (under 40 year-old) executive who demonstrates leadership and significant contributions to single or multiple nonprofit organizations through active leadership on a board and/or strategic management/guidance.

  • WINNER: Joe Schmidt, Trane Co.
  • Jill Boyle, Schenck, S.C.
  • Lauren Luellwitz, IBM;

Nonprofit Awards

Nonprofit Collaboration of the Year: This award recognizes a collaborative project that encompasses developed collaborative relationships with other nonprofit organizations engagement of multiple stakeholders within the community being served and innovation in approaching a community problem or issue and have leveraged these relationships to make and even more meaningful impact in the community. Note: since this award recognizes a project that may involve multiple organizations or individuals, it may be “awarded” to more than one part of the project in recognition of their contributions.

  • WINNER: St. Ann Center for Intergenerational Care
  • Big Brothers Big Sisters of Metro Milwaukee
  • Thriving Waukesha County Alliance

Nonprofit Executive of the Year: This award is given to a nonprofit leader who demonstrates vision and innovation in advancing the mission of the nonprofit extensive involvement in a nonprofit and/or creativity in bringing new resources and opportunities to the nonprofit.

  • WINNER: John Cary, MACC Fund
  • Linda Edelstein, Milwaukee Youth Symphony Orchestra
  • Michael J. Gifford, AIDS Resource Center of Wisconsin, Inc.

Nonprofit (Organization) of the Year: This award is given to a nonprofit organization (not an individual) in recognition for creativity and innovation in building a sustainable organization excellence in teamwork and an outstanding dedication to the organization’s mission in the community organizational excellence in management and operations.

Large (operating budget $3M and above):

  • WINNER: St. Coletta of Wisconsin
  • Hunger Task Force
  • Make-A-Wish Foundation of Wisconsin

Small (operating budget under $3M):

  • WINNER: Community Warehouse, Inc.
  • Down Syndrome Association of Wisconsin
  • Hope Center

Social Enterprise: This award recognizes a nonprofit organization that demonstrates creative application of the principles of social enterprise in the operation and funding of the organization.

  • WINNER: Homeless Assistance Leadership Organization, Inc., (HALO)
  • Betty Brinn Children’s Museum
  • Beyond Vision

Highlight Video

Event Details

  • Thursday, November 3, 2016
  • 7:30 – 9:30 am
  • Potawatomi Hotel & Casino

Presented By

Platinum Sponsors

Gold Sponsor

Event Partner

Interested in sponsoring an event? To reap the benefits of the ultimate in-person marketing opportunity contact Linda Crawford, Director of Sales, to discuss opportunities. Event sponsorships are limited.