Nonprofit Excellence Awards

On November 4, 2014 BizTimes Media presented its inagural awards program to salute southeastern Wisconsin’s best corporate citizens and most effective nonprofit organizations.

The awards presentation was preceded by a panel discussion about the status of southeastern Wisconsin’s nonprofit industry and strategies for connecting business leaders and companies to charities.


  • Thomas Shannon, president and CEO of The BrightStar Wisconsin Foundation Inc.
  • Ken Hanson, founder and CEO, Hanson Dodge Creative
  • Alan Petelinsek, CEO of Power Test Inc.
  • Maria Nicholas Groves, director of business development at The Novo Group and president of Feeding Mouths, Filling Minds

Moderator: Kimberly Kane, founder and president, Kane Communications Group

Congratulations to the 2014 Winners & Finalists

Corporate Citizen of the Year:

  • WINNER: Hunzinger Construction Company
  • Finalist: Emerys Cycling Triathlon & Fitness
  • Finalist: Potawatomi Hotel & Casino

Next Generation Leadership:

  • WINNER: Pam Evason
  • Finalist: Jesse Daily
  • Finalist: Dimas Ocampo

In-Kind Supporter:

  • WINNER: WISN-TV Channel 12
  • Finalist: Core Creative, Inc.
  • Finalist: Schroeder Solutions

Corporate Volunteer of the Year:

  • WINNER: Kevin Behl
  • Finalist: Peggy Groth
  • Finalist: Maureen McGinnity

Lifetime Achievement:

  • WINNER: Raejean Kanter
  • Finalist: Norman Doll
  • Finalist: Sylvia DuBois (Posthumous)

Nonprofit (Organization) of the Year:

Small (operating budget under $3M):

  • WINNER: Make A Difference-Wisconsin
  • Finalist: College Possible Milwaukee
  • Finalist: Rebuilding Together – Greater Milwaukee

Large (operating budget $3M and above):

  • WINNER: Penfield Children’s Center
  • Finalist: Junior Achievement of Wisconsin
  • Finalist: Meta House

Social Enterprise:

  • WINNER: The Water Council
  • Finalist: GPS Education Partners
  • Finalist: United Community Center

Nonprofit Collaboration of the Year:

  • WINNER: Menomonee Valley Partners & Urban Ecology Center
  • Finalist: Discovery World & Journey House
  • Finalist: The Faye McBeath Foundation & community organizations

Nonprofit Executive of the Year:

  • WINNER: Bonnie Bellehumeur
  • Finalist: Lynda Kohler
  • Finalist: Sister Edna Lonergan

Highlight Video

Event Details

  • Thursday, November 4, 2014
  • 7:30 – 9:30 am
  • Potawatomi Hotel & Casino

Presented By

Gold Sponsors

Supporting Sponsor


Interested in sponsoring an event? To reap the benefits of the ultimate in-person marketing opportunity contact Linda Crawford, Director of Sales, to discuss opportunities. Event sponsorships are limited.